Hubby celebrated his birthday a few days ago, and as is customary, I was obliged to cook some birthday noodles for him. In the Philippines, we believe that one must have noodles on his/her birthday so that he/she will have a long life. I believe we got this belief from the Chinese, although we are not too specific on which kind of noodles to prepare.

I was not able to make the noodles on the day of his birthday though because our house (building) lost its water connection due to some pipes being repaired. I just made it on the day after his birthday. This time I used flat egg noodles which I cooked with the traditional ingredients of meat, seafood and vegetables. In the Philippines, we would always call this "pancit canton". If we add some vermicelli to it then it will be called "bam-i". Don't ask me why, that's just how it is.
Picture
Filipino-style pancit canton
So what did I make on his big day? I made "dongpo pork" (braised pork or the Chinese version of "humba") for the first time. Luckily it was a success. I would never want to ruin a dish on my husband's birthday. 
Picture
dongpo pork with eggs
This year we also ditched the traditional birthday cake from the bakeshop because we noticed that all their cakes just taste the same (whether sponge or chocolate, they have the same taste). Instead, Hubby requested for a blueberry cheesecake which I happily made for him as well.
lorena
1/21/2013 08:43:21 pm

hi doris, can you please teach me how to make dongpo pork with eggs...it looks yummyyyy. :)

Reply



Leave a Reply.