In the days leading up to the Chinese New Year, I was inspired to try cooking some Chinese dishes which I had never cooked before or cooked wrongly before. I'm not sure why, but it must be the spirit of the CNY that urged me to try out real Chinese cooking. I also got bold enough to make use of ingredients that I normally don't use in my cooking like: rice wine, mushroom dark soy sauce, dried mushroom and dried whole red chillies to name a few.

Here are some of the dishes I made. And well, CNY 2012 has already concluded several days ago but I'm still going to make some more dishes like the Sichuan style orange chicken so stay tuned...
Picture
my version of General Tso's chicken
Picture
pork with broccoli (I used pork instead of beef)
Picture
chicken claypot rice (without claypot)
Picture
spicy fried noodles



Leave a Reply.