It's funny how, like the dragon, I wanted to spit fire during the Chinese New Year celebrations this year! My husband and I were so looking forward to doing some traveling during this holiday until....his company sent him to a work trip to Indonesia instead!

My mother-in-law is simply disappointed to say the least. Earlier on, we thought this might be the year that Hubby and I will be able to go home and celebrate this occasion with her in Malaysia. Wrong. It is always so hard to plan for holidays with Hubby's work. By the time they could announce the dates of the holidays, all the flights to Malaysia were already either fully-booked or overpriced. So we thought of going somewhere with a cheaper airfare. I thought I hit the jackpot when I found return flights to Cebu for less than 2,000 Yuan for the both of us (including taxes and fees). Wrong again.

Instead, we celebrated the CNY eve just like it was nothing because early in the morning on the first day of the Chinese New Year, my husband left for Indonesia. Talk about celebrating the new year with family! We spent it alone and apart. And as I am writing this entry, he is still there.

Sorry for ranting here in my blog, but I am just too disappointed for words. I still managed to make something "symbolic" for our new year's eve dinner though. I made my signature style steamed fish. They say fish symbolizes abundance. I wasn't able to make something "sticky" to symbolize family togetherness. Well, we could have eaten "glue" and it would still be the same!
Picture
fish prepared for steaming
Picture
steamed fish garnished with lots of coriander leaves and spring onions



Leave a Reply.